Taking Advantage of Stroke and Distance Penalty on the Green

Duration: 1:28

Hitting your putt off the green and into a hazard is never a good thing, but there is a way to mitigate the damage by using a little known rule to your advantage. It goes by Rule 27, and in a pinch it could just be your best friend.

In this lesson, Mark Wilson of the PGA Rules Committee demonstrates when you might take advantage of a penalty of stroke and distance to get yourself out of a hazard and back on the green. Remember this rule of golf the next time you encounter a tricky putt that leaves you in a trap, and you’ll be glad to walk away with only the one extra stroke!

Discussion
  • (will not be published)

No Comments